OH YEAH, I have a blog: Why college is kicking my butt, but I’m not letting it bother me.

I’d hate for this blog to turn into every typical Facebook status: A message board to complain.

So instead of complaining about the terrible mess of schoolwork and stress I’ve been in, I’d actually like to look at the positive sides of all the craziness and hope that you can see the light at the end of the tunnel with me.

Let me start by giving you a little background information about myself– (This is me!)Image

~~~~~My name is Chelsea Komblevicz. I am currently a public relations major with a Spanish minor at Central Michigan University. I’m on the PR team for CM Life, a student-run newspaper on our campus. I’m also a member of PR Central, a student-run firm who deals with a handful of clients in the Central Michigan area.  Additionally, I work around 20 or 30 hours a week as a cashier at Kroger and am a member of the Cultural Council, which organizes events, fundraisers, and a range of employee matters. (My personal ideas do not reflect the opinion of any of these organizations)~~~~~

Anyway, where shall I start? I like making lists, because it helps me keep my thoughts in order. So here, I present to thee, the things that cause me the most problems in college:

1. Money: The root of all evil. 

This has been, by far, the most stressful aspect of going to college. Between rent, car payments, books, classes, and trying to have a life, my savings account is nearly non-existent. I mean, my blog is even titled, “The struggles of a broke PR student trying to have a life.” As a matter of fact, I just got my first credit card last week–which could be a blessing or a curse. Not having money does suck, but I can reflect on my situation right now and see that I’m learning a valuable lesson.

First of all, material things don’t matter.

I mean, yes, they kind of do. For example, I can’t really go to class nude everyday. I have to wear clothes. But name-brand outfits, $100 shoes, top-of-the-line this, that, and the other–it’s not what makes you happy. When I reflect on 2013, I don’t say, “Wow, the best time I had this year was when I went to Nordstrom and bought those new heels.” (That never really happened–didn’t you hear me say I was broke?)

The best times I had were when I got to see my family (they live 2.5 hours away), when I reunited with my best friends to catch up with one another, when I got to experience the amazing music festivals and connect with people at a completely different level. Thanks to the people I know and trust, I was able to do all of these things. Fortunately, they don’t give a damn if I’m wearing clothes from the thrift shop, or the name brand stores. And they also know I won’t take their favors and experiences with them for granted.
(Thank you Lawrence, Jason and Alex for making Texas possible. Thank you Lauren and Vito for making Vegas possible. Thank you mom and dad for saving my ass when I needed to pay my bills! And of course, thank you to everyone who has shared these great experiences with me–there are many more to come!)

I could rant about money all day, but in the end, I’ve truly learned how to afford just the bare minimum and still have a great time doing so.

2. Time: Do we ever have enough? 

Does “time” being my second issue really come as a shock to any of you? Money and time seem to be the two most valued aspects of American culture.

Americans (United-Statesians), specifically, care about time more than any other nation. If you said, “let’s meet at the restaurant at 3″ in a South American country, they might show up an hour later. But here in the U.S., that’s frowned upon. Even in my classes, if teachers show up 15 minutes late, they can hardly expect the class to be there when they finally arrive.

Time management has been probably been the single most stressful, but important things, I’ve been able to learn in college.

Public relations is a career where you cannot be late and you cannot have mistakes. Yes, it’s stressful, but I love the challenge.

But what I’ve taken out of this is that, despite completely packing your day with tasks from 6 a.m. and not going to sleep until 3, make sure to stop and smell the flowers. It might sound cheesy, but it’s absolutely true. I have a midterm tomorrow and here I am writing this blog post. Escaping from the pressures of juggling class, work, homework and clubs is so important. I try not to forget about that distant thing called a social life.  There are two things I tell myself almost every day:

In the end, it all works out.

and “Work hard, play hard.

3. And last, but definitely not least: Relationships.

No, I don’t only mean with a boyfriend or girlfriend (although those are important to some people, too!). I mean those relationships that really count. You really learn to judge peoples’ character in college. You come up here, you know no one, and you try to make friends with complete strangers. Who do you trust?

After awhile, you learn who’s “too busy” to listen to your problems, or be there when you need a shoulder to cry on.

I know exactly who my true friends are, and I love you all. You’ve been there for me; you’ve loved me even in the times when I had nothing to offer. You’ve stayed in touch even in all different parts of the world. Some of you, I’ve been fortunate to meet in college, and others I’ve been glad to know for most of my life.

So, what I’m trying to say is, cherish those relationships, hold them close to your heart, and never ever forget the people who help you up when you fall. Even if I end up moving to Spain after I study abroad (haha), I know I could still call up my friends and feel like I was in the room with them.

This goes for my family too. I’ve been so fortunate to have such a supportive family, and they help me learn and grow every day.

### End rant ####

I hope, throughout all the stress and struggles of being a college student, instead of hating your life because you’re broke, don’t have enough time, or might be struggling to fit in — you see the light at the end of the tunnel.  If you keep a positive attitude about these three things, the world is your oyster.

5 thoughts on “OH YEAH, I have a blog: Why college is kicking my butt, but I’m not letting it bother me.

  1. I really needed to read this today, love! Really interesting and captivating read! It’s so refreshing to hear the positive side of life’s hardships!

  2. Love of money is the root of all evil sweetheart. Not all of us have beem where you are but time and money seem to be at the top of most everyones list. Someday all your hard work will pay off and you will have more than enough of both,I firmly believe this. Good luck in all you do and may God bless you for it.

Leave a Reply

